If the 10 DUP MPs supporting Brexit (and officially supporting the government) had also voted with Theresa May and her ministers on 29 March, the deal would have been approved. According to the motion of 27 February, the defeat of the second significant vote means that the government must immediately submit a request to withdraw from the European Union without a withdrawal agreement. The request, which blocked a Brexit without a deal, was made on 13 March. [94] [95] Two amendments to the proposal were put to a vote: the first, tabled by Caroline Spelman and which in no way categorically rejected the non-deal, was adopted in 312-308; The second, the „Malthouse Compromise,“ which supported the so-called „Non-Deal-Managed Brexit,“ failed 164-374. The British government said on Monday it was „ready to withdraw the insulting parties“ if a future relationship agreement could be saved. Later that day, Conservative MP Anna Soubry, when questioned by the Prime Minister, called on May to accept The Grieve amendment: „The Prime Minister says she wants a sensible vote on Brexit before we leave the European Union. Will she also be so good at this last moment that she accepted my right-wing Hon and learned of Amendment 7 from the friend, in a spirit of unity for all here and in the country? [24] May rejected the idea and said, „We were very clear that we would not launch legal instruments until this good vote had taken place, but the [Grieve] bill that is being drafted indicates that we should not implement these provisions and legal instruments until the withdrawal agreement and the transposition law have reached the code of law. This could be at a very late stage of the procedure, which could mean that we are not in a position to have the orderly and smooth exit from the European Union that we want. [25] After the withdrawal agreement comfortably succeeded in its second reading by 358 votes to 234, it is on track to complete its adoption by both houses of Parliament in time to allow Britain to leave the European Union at the end of January.

Two amendments were adopted. The Brady Amendment called on the government to renegotiate Northern Ireland`s backstop. It won 16 votes, backed by the Conservatives and the DUP against other parties in the House of Commons, but 7 Labour MPs backed it and eight Conservative MPs voted against. The Spelman-Dromey amendment expressed the desire of the House of Commons to avoid a Brexit without a deal. It received 8 votes, supported by all other parties except the Conservatives and the DUP, but with the support of 17 Conservative MPs. An amendment to pave the way for a binding law that would not prevent any agreement, the Cooper Boles amendment, failed by 23 votes. Three other amendments also failed. [83] [84] The main motion (as amended) was then adopted without division. The House of Commons voted in favour of the withdrawal agreement by 329 votes to 299, which, after months of negotiations with Brussels and its backs, won a big victory for the Prime Minister.

The left side of the graph below shows how members of Boris Johnson`s cabinet voted on the deal in each of the three key votes. In other words, six of the seven high-level ministers who entered government as part of the Johnson administration voted against the agreement. But under May`s successor, things quickly changed. The 28 „Spartans“ of the European Research Group (ERG), who voted three times against May`s agreement, supported Johnson`s agreement, arguing that he had eliminated northern Ireland`s backstop, signalled the future gap with the EU and not the EU alignment, and introduced new protection measures during the transition period.